Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On LinkedinVisit Us On Instagram
all-day Bison – Ancient. Massive. Wild.
Bison – Ancient. Massive. Wild.
May 24 – Jul 28 all-day
Bison - Ancient. Massive. Wild.
Bison – Ancient. Massive. Wild. Head on down the road to see us! May 24 – July 28, 2019. This nationally touring exhibit explores the significance of the bison from pre-history, to their relationship with[...]

Join Our Newsletter

Chisholm Trail 150


Series #16

Posted on 01/20/2009

Stock Raisers held meeting at Graham City for their first organizational meeting in 1877. During the 1870’s as the livestock industry began to develop in Texas and the southwest, thieves ran off thousands of dollars worth of livestock, creating great havoc. Finally out of great frustration, a few stockmen living in northwest Texas decided it was time do something about this problem. Men rode out on horseback throughout northwest Texas nailing notices to fence posts and tree trunks next to trails. These posters announced an upcoming meeting in Graham City, Texas on the 15th and 16th of February 1877. This historic gathering set into motion the formation of what some years later would become one of the largest livestock associations in the world.

At the first meeting the country represented by those in attendance was divided into districts.

District One – The First District included, “Beginning at the mouth of Keechi creek, where it empties into the Brazos River, thence up said creek to the telegraph line, thence West with the telegraph line to Cement Mountain, thence South to the Brazos River near the old Agency, thence down said river to the place of beginning; and the following persons are allotted to this district: C.L. Carter, Slaughter Bros., Thomas Scarborough, F. J. Atkinson, Charles Dalton, D. C. Kyle.

District Two – Commencing at the North-east corner of District No. l, and running North to the mouth of Lodge Creek where it empties into the West Fort of Trinity River, thence up the West Fork to its head, thence South to where the Telegraph line crosses Dry Creek, thence East to the place of beginning; and the following named person are allotted to said District: G. G. Milliken, Wilson Bros., W. C. Hunt, B. R. Willett and J. C. Loving.

District Three – This territory contained within the following boundaries:
Beginning at the head of West Fork, and running west to John Farrar’s camp on Slippery, thence up Little Wichita opposite head of Deep Creek, thence down the divide, Deep Creek and Turkey Creek to the Brazos River, thence on a direct line to Fort Griffin, thence down the Clear Fork to Duff Prairie, thence down the Brazos River to the old Agency and to the South-west corner of District No. one; and the following named persons are allotted to said district: J. H. Graham, J. F. Farrar, J. W. Medlin, J. S. & D. W. Godwin, J. D. Smith, E. P. Davis, George W. Terrill, A. B. Medlan, N. H. Gr4aham, McCommis & Hunt, C. C. Mills, W. B. Mills, John Stephens, T. H. Burnett, R. E. Mabry, Hardest, Boaz & Co., T. T. Clark, J. W. Proffit, Carpenter & Eaton, R. J. Johnson, Wright & Bro…

There were six districts created during this historic gathering which eventually became known as The Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association. Headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, it continues to work protecting its thousands of members in Texas and Oklahoma.

Bill Benson – Executive Director